What are Chakras

What are Chakras?

Chakra means wheel of energy. We all have seven wheels of energy (chakras) starting from the base of our spine to the crown of our head. They are responsible for influencing everything from emotions to physical symptoms.

The seven chakras are Root, Sacral, Solar Plexus, Heart, Throat, Third Eye and Crown.

How do Chakras work?

Chakras work together receiving energy from what you eat, the exercise you do, the environment and emotional state to name a few.

The energy generated by the chakra is called Prana. When the chakras are open it allows the energy to run freely through your body. Once they are all working in sync you will have energy,  well-being and ease of body and mind. 

Any blockage in any of the chakras can cause a chakra to stop working as well as it should. This in turn can have a negative impact on your physical and psychological health. When one chakra is unbalanced it can also cause the others to become unbalanced too. Over a long period of time, your body will become weak.


Shop Chakras

Are chakras real?

You can not see chakras, so you may wonder if they are actually real. Similar to blood being pumped around the body passing through organs, energy is flowing around the body passing through chakras. Without this circle of blood and energy, you can not survive. 

You may not see the energy but you can feel it. WeÔÇÖve all experienced a feeling in the pit of your stomach in certain situations. This is the sacral chakra you can feel. The ache in your heart when you fall in love, this is the heart chakra or the lump in your throat when you canÔÇÖt speak, this is the throat chakra. When you work more with chakras you can even feel a tingling above your head from your crown chakra.┬á

How can working with Chakras help me?

Working with chakras and learning to tune them to be balanced will improve your health and well-being. Once you become good at opening the chakras you will develop your intuition to know when your chakras are becoming blocked. This way you will be able to detect problems as they arise and deal with them before they become serious. 

Through serious work with chakras, you can deal with past problems and start to heal ongoing issues.

What do the 7 chakras mean and what are they used for?

All of the 7 chakras through the body have different properties. Each wheel of energy at each chakra energy point connects with different physical and emotional areas in the body. If you are experiencing problems emotionally or physical it means that one of your chakra energy wheels are not flowing as they should. 

For a details description of each of the chakra properties, visit the relevant pages: